It’s time to go open source

DebianAbout a two months ago I successfully replaced Windows 7 with open source operating system. Yes, Linux. At first I was very excited about Ubuntu, which is based on Debian, but Ubuntu 11.04 release has some “improvements”. I refer to Unity, next evolutionary step in Gnome desktops aiming on touch screen devices. First impression is everything and Unity’s was bad. I really don’t like the sidebar with all stuff crowded, especially with some open programs. Navigation between open windows and guessing which icon belongs to which window has become mission impossible. I thought with some practice, I will be able to improve user experience, but the real disappointment just come. Searching for programs is clumsy and very unfriendly as you have to click a few times to reach desired icon.

Wikipedia: Usage share of operating systems


After trying to make trough first steps, I decided to go back to old Gnome desktop, which was lunched with Ubuntu 10.10. Unfortunately, it didn’t work. After login with selected old X server, I noticed a few problems with graphic card. Update didn’t solve any problem, as compiz was still unstable. Unity could be interesting after some improvements and resolved stability issues, especially for tablet computers where big icons come handy.

Linux Mint

After last experience I gave up on Ubuntu and decided to go with Linux Mint, which is actually  based on Ubuntu distribution and comes with all available software for Ubuntu. After first install everything worked smoothly. All basic applications are included and much more. No need to install media codecs or word processor. For instance MP3 codecs, disc burners, Libre Office, etc. User experience is really good, as it is good first impression.

3 Comments

  1. Welcome to Linux, I bounced back and forth between Windows and Linux for a number of years before finally making the jump. I’ve been running now without the comfort of a Windows partition for some years now, and have never regretted it.

    I would highly recommend finding and joining your local LUG. They are a great source of knowledge and free support, as well as saving your friends and family from being bored to tears about Linux!

    Personally I get on fine with Unity, but appreciate it isn’t to everyone’s taste. Linux Mint is great, although I have only use the Linux Mint Debian Edition, which is that bit closer to upstream Debian. My other favourites are Debian and CrunchBang.

  2. Few weeks ago I installed Ubuntu 11.04 on my laptop as dual boot OS with Windows 7. I can only say Ubuntu is becoming dominant OS on my laptop :).

    Yes, I have to admit, sometimes I still miss Windows. 🙂 Actually not Windows but some applications running on Windows platform, like Adobe products (Photoshop and Dreamweaver) and MS Visual Studio.

    I tried Wine, but it wasn’t very successful with Photoshop. Then I switched to virtualization with Virtualbox.

    On the other hand, I really like Banshee. My music collection is finally in place. 😀

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.